Where is a Virtual SAN Fault Domain configured?

A.VMware Virtual SAN Cluster configuration
B.VMware High Availability Cluster configuration
C.Distributed Resource Scheduler configuration
D.Datacenter Advanced Settings configuration

Answer: A
If your Virtual SAN cluster spans acrossmultiple racks or blade server chassis in a data center and
you want to make sure that your hosts are protected against rack or chassis failure, you can
create fault domains and add one or more hosts to it.
A fault domain consists of one or more Virtual SAN hosts grouped together according to their
physical location in the data center. When configured, fault domains enable Virtual SAN to tolerate failures of entire physical rack as well as failures of a single host, capacity device, network link or a
network switch dedicated to fault domains. Fault domains cannot be configured for stretched or
metro clusters.
The number of failures your cluster can tolerate depends on the number of failures a virtual
machine is provisioned to tolerate. For example, when avirtual machine is configured with Number
of failures to tolerate=1 and using multiple fault domains, Virtual SAN can tolerate a single failure
of any kind and of any component in a fault domain, including the failure of an entire rack.
When you configurefault domains on a rack and provision a new virtual machine, Virtual SAN
ensures that protection objects, such as replicas and witnesses are placed on different fault
domains. If, for example, a virtual machine’s storage policy is Number of failures to tolerate=n,
Virtual SAN requires a minimum of 2*n+1 fault domains in the cluster. When virtual machines are
provisioned in a cluster with fault domains using this policy, the copies of the associated virtual
machine objects are stored across separate racks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *